Sense and Sensitivity

I was just about to post something on Facebook, when I checked myself. I thought it over, and then decided to introspect and write this post instead.

What I had meant to write on FB was yet another Rajinikanth joke that had come to my mind. It would have gone something like this: "It was no Tsunami. Rajinikanth had dropped a pebble in the ocean!"

It does fit in with all those Rajinikanth jokes, but my mind censored this one at a different level. Would this go down well with anyone who had lost a family-member or a friend in that Tsunami?

I was quickly reminded of another example. Soon after the 9/11 attacks in USA, Osama Bin Laden was a hated man. But somehow, jokes began to circulate about him just days after the attack! Was it an example of someone seeking solace in humour or by demeaning the man who had caused so much hurt? Was it some kind of comic relief that was being provided?

I don’t know. But what I know is my joke may not have all that funny to those who had suffered due to that Tsunami. Sure, I could have used my freedom of expression and gone ahead with and updated my status with the joke! But wouldn’t that have put me in the same ranks as the news anchor fron New Zealand who had insensitively chuckled on national television about how Sheila Dixit’s surname sounded so much like D*CK-SH*T?

Now, I agree that I am not the most sensitive person in the world. But I do try to ensure that I do not inadvertently hurt someone with my words. I would like to do so, and hope that I find the strength and the prudence to do so whenever it becomes necessary!

And, in a slightly cocky manner, hope that several others, who undermine others’ feelings while speaking or acting, mend their ways. Amen, shall we say?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shuvayu Bandyopadhyay
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 16:01:03

    Amen.. But fact is.. I had already made that joke.. Got a few laughs but now I’m feeling terrible.. -.-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

